How to Undress in Front of Your Husband

13 min, 4K digital cinema
Video/Film
New York, USA
2016

The video-performance remake "How to Undress In Front Of Your Husband", replicated from a 1960s ‘how to’ video, depicts the do’s and don’ts of female disrobing, the original video turns this quotidian action into a performance under an authoritarian male gaze. Marcin recreates the video, playing all of the characters herself in delightful self-awareness, disrupting the original ‘educational’ trajectory of this narrative, while highlighting the absurdity of its creation in the first place.

“From narrator to peeping Tom husband, from the perfect wife to the undesirable wife, I am bending my characters with signifiers such as simulation of clothing, demeanor and improvisation,” Marcin reveals. “At the core, I aim to express that the full world of gender and the breadth of its expression has the potential to exist within one person, and that person is also the almighty oppressor or oppressed—depending on how we want to see it.”

(A.Nunes, 'A Sexist 1960s Film Remake Rewrites Cinema History', VICE Creator's Project, Sep 2016)

The project was supported by the Foundation for Contemporary Arts Emergency Grant, New York.

TRIPLE F

15 min, 2K digital cinema
Video/Film
Rheda/ Dortmund/ Marl, Germany
2013

A visual homage to the sensual world of 70ies science-fiction, TRIPLE F is about power, jealousy and interpersonal war set amidst a heavenly castle garden, apocalyptic prefab architecture and historic downtown buildings of three female kingdoms and their rulers who puppeteer their people in a bitter war. The films characters – riddled with repressed desire – are obsessed with controlling and erasing the opponent as much as their own compatriots. By drawing parallels to the work of American filmmaker David Lynch, German filmmaker Christoph Schlingensief, as well as starring actress-muses Ela Paul (Unter Uns) and Denise M’Baye (Um Himmels Willen), Marcin’s melodramatic narration is subverted through a subtle irony, and sheds light on power, freedom, utopia and consumerism in a post-sensual world.

'The film, as a reflection and critique of ugly political and social dynamic, points to its unhealthy impact on the human mind, and the inevitability of its mechanisms in a service economy of the modern metropolis.'

(S.Corona, 'The Art without Gravity', Wallstreet Magazine, Nov 2013)

The film was commissioned by Film- und Media Foundation NRW, Düsseldorf.

//KIDS//

13.34 min, 4K
Video/Film
New York, USA
2012

//KIDS// narrates through a conceptual revision of the cult film 'Kids' (New York, 1995, Larry Clark) the interaction of a group of young adults; the smooth transition between shocking rituals and its adaption as lifestyle.

While ‘Female’ is struggling with her demons, ‘Face’ and ‘Guy’ are on a tour seeking for the innocent ‘Virgin’ in downtown Manhattan. In Washington Square Park, they meet the ‘Skater Boys’ and ‘Skater Girls’. Together, they batter a ‘Man in the Park’; later they amuse themselves in a swimming pool and at a party. When ‘Female’ finally finds them, they are already high, asleep and unconscious. Only ‘Face’ is awake and has fun with ‘Virgin’. A sudden and surprising end reverses the point of view.

By the particular mix of citation, inversion, irony, twilight behaviors and exaggeration Marcin creates a society in which the word 'Kids' becomes a description of state; in which conformity and irresponsibility prevail, consciousness is forgotten. Contemporary phenomena such as the obsession with youth, the manipulative influence of media images and the continuing globalization in an alienated and diverted world emerge.

The project was supported by the DAAD and the culture ministry of Nordrhine-Westfalia.

(Sarah Corona, Independent Curator, Bologna/ NYC)

Hotel

12.00 min, HD
Video/Film
New York, USA
2010

In the video ‘Hotel’ existentialism meets sensuality: The Superintendent invites four Trainees into the privacy of the ‘Hotel’, where they must undergo a series of theoretical and practical exercises, reminiscent of body art and performance lecture, administered by the Bellboy, the Superintendent and the Hotel Owner. Each Trainee is assessed according to his or her performance and willingness to submit to the Easy-to-Believe system. 



The seemingly ordinary shortfilm maneuvers into one of a live performance, captured on video, in which the setting of ‘Hotel’, as a semi private, semi public and semi personal space, becomes a metaphor for our culture: A society run by service, filled with competition and commercial interest. Beneath its surface: Alack of identity, individualism and motif. By creating a set of ‘personae’ who fully commit to this system, a comparison is drawn to psychological mechanisms and authorities in our own culture and education.

Loss of hearing

13.37 min, DV Cam
Video/Film
Los Angeles, USA
2008

In 'Loss of hearing' the scenery is solely introduced by the use of light and sound. As the narration is placed in a white cube environment, stereotypical plot lines are being stylized and uncovered by an ironical undertone.

As the MANAGER WOMAN doesn't feel loved anymore, she tries to gain control over the MANAGER MAN. The MANAGER MAN is tired of these games and has affairs to escape from the pressure. Meanwhile the young and confused TWO SISTERS are planning a surf career and hang out with creepy guys in the surf shop.

'Loss of hearing' comments with caricature, provocation and irony on the loss of sense and emotion in mass media productions. Behind that level of irony the video work reveals a deep-seated romanticism.

Everything is nothing

12.24 min, HDV
Video/Film
Berlin, Germany
2007

All scenes of 'Everything is nothing' take place inside the spaces of Cinema Babylon in Berlin. Through lightening, improvisation and choreography the structures of the rooms are used as a stage for theatrical scenes that bring the uncanny into a familiar space.

As a Girl errs through an Odyssey of encounters, she meets the DJ, the Gang, the Vampires, the Lady, the Student and other seductive characters inside of the Cinema Babylon. Meanwhile the DJ, positioned on the upper level, puts her down for having small breasts, the Gang, hiding between the seats, attempts to descend on her, simultaneously the Vampires are longing to infect her in the backstage. Instead of being destroyed, she seemingly gains more and more strength with every humiliation and develops into a witty and calm protagonist.

The encounters are determined by a sexual and psychological violence in a highly surreal, grotesque but authentic manner. Consequently, the thin line between verity of fact, subjectivity of perception, sense of guilt of a victim and willingness of self-destruction forms an unanswered question that leaves the viewer with an uneasy feeling of disruption.

As in Sciencefiction

6.34 min, HDV
Video/Film
Münster, Germany
2007

In 'As in sciencefiction' nothing that happens is fiction. Performances with surreal elements form a fragmentary script, standing in relation to the Artist’s life.

As a young Woman is driving and playing inside the woods, we get introduced to an autarkic way of being and expression. Suddenly, the Mother appears in a staged duel on a wide open field. Afterwards, the young Woman finds herself quite lonesome in a big city. As a result, she tries to redefine herself in experience with the Dancer and the Boyfriend.

All scenes were captured through the eyes of a primarily cinematographic camera work. The ‘Other’ such as Mother, Dancer and Boyfriend appear in a fragmentary script that goes along with general difficulties of the coming of-age topic, specific to the conflict of a self-determined, remote life against the pressure of social expectations inherent in the Self and the personal environment.

Jogginggehenmusemassnahme

15.15 min, DV Cam
Video/Film
Geneva, Switzerland
2006

Die 'Jogginggehenmusemassnahme' opens with panning shots over Geneva's harbour. The view passes through scenes of busy everyday activities, which are however deprived of their linearity by means of short rewound sequences, causing the first irritations and hence departures from familiar perceptual patterns. Such departures also shape the narrative structure of the work, which subsequently concentrates on following a young female jogger.

We pursue the woman, Marcin herself, on her way from the harbour to a park: 'The labyrinth of memory and cultural structures'. It is here, as it were in conflict with discursive labeling, that an erotic fantasy world primarily involving the body splits off, stimulated by the beauty of the day and the explicitly formulated attempt to set nature itself against the rational domestication of nature. This carries the woman, as she continues her route through the city and into the night, deeper and deeper into an associative flow of thoughts and fantasies.

Marcin's work articulates how basic human needs can break out from their confines and run free. They are then able, prompted by the rhythm of life itself, which is in turn evoked by running and the pulsation of blood at the same time the impulses behind eros to release themselves from the hyper-civilization of the world and to elicit in the self at least a temporary feeling of bliss.

[WAD]

Miss Ion Troja X

8.19 min, Mini DV
Video/Film
Wendover, USA
2006

A young woman meets three young men in the desert. Underlaying different motivations they go together on a walk with the common goal to find 'Miss Ion Troja X'.

The non-place desert becomes a metaphor for a life's latitude and denotes the relativity of possibility, choice and action of an individual.

Royal Kids

19.23 min, DV Cam
Video/Film
Abendsberg, Germany
2005

In 'Royal Kids' we meet Princess Nanabe and Prince Rudolpho, who are in the fairyland on the search for themselves. While Nanabe is looking for a prince, Rudolpho -jinxed into a bear- is hanging around the occident where the folks put him into a cage.

The surrealistic film evokes associations of a modern Pop fairytale. However the dialogues are in such a manner idiosyncratic that they remind of an inner diary. The bizarre fairy-world draws a comparison to the identity and finding phase in the actual world that has alike the fairy already a predominating structure with certain obligations.

How to Undress in Front of Your Husband

11.26 min, 4K digital cinemaVideo/FilmNew York, USA
2016

Die Video-Performance "How to Undress in Front of Your Husband" ist das Remake eines 1960er Jahre "How to" Videos und thematisiert die Gebote und Verbote des weiblichen Entkleiden. Das originale Video verkehrt diese triviale Aktion in eine Art von Leistung, die von der Frau unter einem autoritären männlichen Blick erbracht werden muss. Marcin stellt im Video bewusst alle Charaktere dar, um das ursprüngliche "erzieherische" Anliegen dieser Erzählung abzuändern und die Absurdität seiner Existenz in erster Linie hervorheben.

“From narrator to peeping Tom husband, from the perfect wife to the undesirable wife, I am bending my characters with signifiers such as simulation of clothing, demeanor and improvisation,” Marcin reveals. “At the core, I aim to express that the full world of gender and the breadth of its expression has the potential to exist within one person, and that person is also the almighty oppressor or oppressed—depending on how we want to see it.”

(A.Nunes, 'A Sexist 1960s Film Remake Rewrites Cinema History', VICE Creator's Project, Sep 2016)

Der Film wurde vom Foundation for Contemporary Arts Emergency Grant, New York gefördert.

TRIPLE F

12.18 min, 5K digital cinemaVideo/FilmRheda/ Dortmund/ Marl, Germany
2013

Als visuelle Hommage an die sinnliche Welt des 70ger Jahre Science-Fiction ist TRIPLE F eine Erzählung über Macht, Eifersucht und zwischenmenschlichen Krieg und spielt inmitten eines himmlischen Schlossgartens, apokalyptischer Betonarchitektur, sowie einer historischen Altstadt, die Königreiche der drei Herrscherinnen, die ihr Völker wie Puppenspieler in einen erbitterten Krieg lenken. Die Charaktäre des Film - von unterdrückten Wünschen gespickt - kontrollieren und vernichten die Gegner wie ihre eigenen Landsleute mit Besessenheit. Durch Parallelen zu der Arbeit des amerikanischen Filmemachers David Lynch, sowie des deutschen Filmemachers Christoph Schlingensief und mit dem fabelhaften Schaupsiel der Hauptdarstellerin-Musen Ela Paul (Unter Uns) und Denise M'Baye (Um Himmels Willen) unterläuft Marcin die melodramatische Erzählung mit einer subtile Ironie und beleuchtet Macht, Freiheit, Utopie und Konsum in einer post-sinnlichen Welt.

'Der Film, als eine Reflexion und Kritik einer hässlichen politischen und sozialen Dynamik, weist auf deren ungesunde Auswirkungen auf den menschlichen Geist und die Unvermeidlichkeit deren Mechanismen in einer Dienstleistungsgesellschaft der modernen Metropole.'

(S.Corona, 'The Art without Gravity', Wallstreet Magazin, Nov 2013)

Der Film wurde von Film- und Medienstiftung NRW, Düsseldorf gefördert.

//KIDS//

13.30 min, 4K
Video/Film
New York, USA
2012

Der Kurzfilm //KIDS// erzählt durch eine konzeptionelle Überarbeitung des Kultfilms 'Kids' (1995) das Zusammenspiel einer Gruppe Jugendlicher, den stufenlosen Übergang zwischen schockierenden Ritualen und deren Aneignung als Lebensstil.

Während ›Female‹ mit ihren Dämonen kämpft, machen sich ›Face‹ und ›Guy‹ auf den Weg, die unschuldige ›Virgin‹ in Zentrum Manhattans aufzusuchen. Im Washington Square Park treffen sie auf die ›Skater Boys‹ und die ›Skater Girls‹. Gemeinsam prügeln sie auf einen ›Mann im Park‹ ein; später amüsieren sie sich in einem Schwimmbad und auf einer Feier. Als ›Female‹ sie endlich findet, sind sie ›high‹, bereits eingeschlafen bzw. besinnungslos. Nur ›Face‹ ist wach und amüsiert sich mit ›Virgin‹. Ein plötzliches wie unerwartetes Ende stellt dabei die Sichtweise der RezipientInnen in Frage.

Durch die besondere Mischung aus Zitaten, Umkehrung, Ironie, zwielichtigen Verhaltensweisen und Übertreibungen erschafft Marcin eine Gesellschaft, in der das Wort 'KIDS' zur Beschreibung eines Zustand wird, in dem Konformität und Verantwortungslosigkeit vorherrschen und Gewissenhaftigkeit in Vergessenheit geraten ist. Gegenwärtige Phänomene wie der Jugendwahn, der manipulative Einfluss in medialen Darstellungen sowie die fortlaufende Globalisierung in einer verfremdeten und zweckentfremdeten Welt treten in Erscheinung.

Das Projekt wurde vom DAAD und dem Kultusministerium Nordrhein-Westfalens unterstützt.

(Sarah Corona, Independent Curator, Bologna/ NYC)

Hotel

12.00 min, HD
Video/Film
New York, USA
2010

Im Video ‘Hotel’ trifft Extentialismus auf Sinnlichkeit. Die Hotel-Managerin lädt vier Auszubildende in die Privatsphäre des Hotels ein, wo sie sich einer Reihe von theoretischen und praktischen Übungen, die an Body und Performance Art erinnern, unterziehen müssen.

Jeder Auszubildende wird bezüglich seiner Leistung und Bereitschaft, dem Glaubenssystem zu folgen, beurteilt. Der scheinbar gewöhnliche Kurzfilm manövriert in eine live Performance, in der der Drehort ‘Hotel’ als halb privater, halböffentlicher und halb individueller Raum zur Metapher für unsere Kultur wird: Eine Gesellschaft, die von Wettbewerb und kommerziellem Interesse geprägt ist. Unter ihrer Oberfläche: Ein Mangel an Identität, Individualismus und Motiv. Durch die Schaffung einer Reihe von ‘Personae’, der grenzenlos für diese System funktioneren, wird ein Vergleich mit psychologischen Mechanismen und Autoritäten in unserer Gesellschft gezogen.

Loss of hearing

13.37 min, DV Cam
Video/Film
Los Angeles, USA
2008

In 'Loss of hearing' werden die Spielorte nur durch den Sound und das Licht angedeutet. Die Narration steht exponiert im White Cube, stereotypische Erzählstränge deuten auf einen ironischen Unterton hin.

Die MANAGER FRAU fühlt sich ungeliebt und versucht die Kontrolle über den MANAGER MANN zu gewinnen. Der MANAGER MANN ist müde von diesen Machtspielen und flüchtet in Affairen. Während die jungen und ziellosen SCHWESTERN eine Surfkarriere planen und mit fragwürdigen SURFERN abhängen.

'Loss of hearing' kommentiert mit Karikatur, Provokation und Humor auf den Verlust von Gefühl und Sinn in den Produktionen der Massenmedien hinweist. Hinter diesem Level der Ironie eröffnet sich eine tief verankerte Romantik.

Sterben Lernen

12.24 min, HDV
Video/Film
Berlin, Deutschland
2007

Alle Szenen von 'Sterben Lernen' finden innerhalb der Räume des Kinos Babylon in Berlin statt. Durch die Beleuchtung, Improvisation und Choreografie werden die Strukturen des Kinos als eine Bühne für theatralische Szenen verwendet, die das Unheimliche in einen vertrauten Raum bringen.

Während ein Mädchen eine Odyssee von Begegnungen durchläuft, trifft sie den DJ, die Bande, die Vampire, die Dame, den Studenten und andere verführerische Charaktere innerhalb des Kinos. Inzwischen stellt der DJ, der sich auf dem oberen Niveau befindet, sie hin, einen kleine Busen zu haben, die Bande, die sich zwischen den Sitzen verbirgt, versucht, sie zu überfallen, gleichzeitig sehnen sich die Vampire danach, sie in der Hinterbühne zu infizieren. Anstelle zerstört zu werden, gewinnt das Mädchen anscheinend immer mehr Kraft mit jeder Erniedrigung und entwickelt sich zu einer witzigen und ruhigen Hauptfigur.

Alle Begegnungen sind von einer sexuellen und psychologischen Gewalt geprägt, die auf eine extrem surrealistische, groteske, dennoch authentische Weise dargestellt werden. Die hauchdünne Linie zwischen Wahrheit von Fakten, Subjektivität von Wahrnehmung, Schuldbewusstsein eines Opfers und Bereitschaft zur Selbstzerstörung bilden einen unbeantworteten Ankerpunkt, der den Zuschauer mit einem unbehaglichen Gefühl der Verstörung hinterlässt.

Als in Sciencefiction

6.34 min, HDV
Video/Film
Münster, Deutschland
2007

In 'Als in Sciencefiction' ist nichts was passiert lediglich fiktional. Performances, die von surrealen Elementen durchwoben sind, entwerfen ein fragmentraisches Skript.

Während eine junge Frau entspannt im Auto fährt und zu den Beatles singt, erfährt man von ihrer Ausdruckswelt. Plötzlich taucht die Mutter in einer Art Duellszene auf, die auf einem weiten Feld arrangiert ist. Danch befindet sich die junge Frau einsam in einer großen Stadt und beginnt ihre soziale Rolle mit dem Tänzer und dem Freund neu zu definieren.

In 'Als in Sciencefiction' werden Performance artige Szenen filmisch umgesetzt. Die Anderen wie die Mutter, der Tänzer, der Freund tauchen in den Fragmente auf. Inhaltlich verweist der Film auf typische Probleme des Erwachsen werdens, speziell auf die Thematik der Selbstbestimmung versus allgemeinen Rollenerwartungen vom Selbst oder von der persönlichen Umwelt.

Jogginggehenmusemassnahme

15.15 min, DV Cam
Video/Film
Genf, Schweiz
2006

Die 'Jogginggehenmusemassnahme' eröffnet mit Kameraschwenks über den Hafen von Genf. Der Blick streift über Szenen alltäglicher Betriebsamkeit, die allerdings in der Aufhebung ihrer Linearität, im Rewind kurzer Sequenzen, erste Irritationen und mithin Ablösungen von vertrauten Wahrnehmungsmustern erfahren. Ablösungen, wie sie auch für die Narrationsstruktur dieser Arbeit, die sich in der Folge auf eine junge Joggerin konzentriert, prägend sind.

Dieser Frau – Marcin selbst – folgt der Betrachter auf ihrem Weg, der sie vom Hafen in einen Park, 'das Labyrinth des Gedächtnis und der kulturellen Strukturen', führt. Ebendort, gleichsam im Widerstreit zur diskursiven Etikettierung, spaltet sich eine vorrangig körperlich erotisch orientierte Fantasiewelt ab, stimuliert durch die Schönheit des Tages und den – explizit formulierten – Versuch, der rationalen Domestizierung von Natur diese Natur selbst entgegenzusetzen. Was die Frau auf ihrem weiteren Weg durch die Stadt und in die Nacht hinein immer tiefer in einen assoziativen Fluss von Gedanken und Fantasien führt.

Marcins Arbeit artikuliert den Aufbruch und den Freilauf grundlegender Bedürfnisse des Menschen. Diese vermögen sich, evoziert durch den Rhythmus des Lebens selbst, der wiederum im Laufen und im Pulsieren des Blutes – zugleich Impulsgeber des Eros – angeregt wird, aus der Hyperzivilisierung der Welt abzulösen und eine zumindest temporäre Glückseligkeit des Ich hervorzurufen.

[WAD]

Miss Ion Troja X

8.19 min, Mini DV
Video/Film
Wendover, USA
2006

Eine junge Frau trifft auf drei junge Männer in der Wüste, mit unterschiedlicher Motivation gehen sie gemeinsam auf eine Wanderung. Ihr Ziel ist es 'Miss Ion Troja X' zu finden.

Der Nicht-Ort Wüste wird zur Metapher eines Lebensspielraums und deutet die Relativität von Möglichkeit, Wahl und Handlung des Individuums an.

Königskinder

19.23 min, DV Cam
Video/Film
Abendsberg, Deutschland
2005

In 'Königskinder' begegnen wir Prinzessin Nanabe und Prinz Rudolpho, die im Märchenland auf der Suche nach sich selbst sind. Während Prinzessin Nanabe auszieht, um einen Prinzen zu suchen, befindet sich Rudolpho als Bär verhext im Abendland, wo die Leute ihn in einen Käfig sperren.

Der surreale Film setzt Assoziationen eines modernen Pop Märchens frei. Die Dialoge hingegen sind derart eigenwillig, dass sie an ein inneres Tagebuch erinnern. Die bizarre Wunschwelt bezieht einen Vergleich zur Identitäts- und Findungsphase in der modernen Welt, die ebenso wie die des Märchens durch eine vorherrschende Struktur und deren Zwänge geprägt ist.